Bad weather, good photography…

Breakthrough
Breakthrough

Well that’s how the saying goes. After a very warm day the weather broke, dark clouds filling the sky and some very heavy bursts of rain coming down. The hills here have been dry and brown after a dry first half of the summer. I decided to drive up to Te Mata Peak, one of the highest nearby hills and see if I could capture some of the effects of the clouds and rain. Naturally it began pouring again not long after I arrived. I had my Fujifilm X-T1 body with me and wasn’t worried about that getting a soaking, but I had put the XF 35mm lens on, which is definitely not weatherproof. Shielding the lens with my hand as much as I could, wiping off the rain that did get on with a cloth and then making sure there was a silica gel pack in my bag when I put it away did the trick.

I was surprised by the number of people out running despite the weather, but that added another subject to the images.

Rain over there
Rain over there
On the curve
On the curve
Dry hills in the rain
Dry hills in the rain
Hill runner
Hill runner
Dappled
Dappled
Road runner
Road runner
Rain on the hills
Rain on the hills
Through the windscreen
Through the windscreen
Tree line
Tree line
Illuminated
Illuminated

All images © Simon Shaw 2015

One thought on “Bad weather, good photography…

Leave a Reply

